Rally the troops

Not to get too heavy and stuff, but if you care at all about the arts in New Orleans, may I suggest you scurry on down to the City Council Chambers at our none-too-glamorous City Hall (1300 Perdido Street) tomorrow (i.e. Tuesday) morning at 10:00am? As it stands, funding for the Arts Council of New Orleans’ Community Arts Grants Program is up in the air, and presenting a unified front at tomorrow’s budget hearing is perhaps the best way to ensure that such funding is secured. The Community Arts Grants Program is extremely important to many arts orgs–especially the smaller ones. In a city like New Orleans, with a shrinking (read: practically non-existent) corporate community to tap for support, funds from the Arts Council can make or break some organizations.

If you can’t spare the hour to show up in person, you might wanna call or email your councilperson directly. Hell, call and email ’em, just to keep ’em on their toes. Phone numbers and email addys are below. Just remember, the squeaky wheel yadda yadda yadda…

NEW ORLEANS CITY COUNCIL

District A
Jay Batt
Phone (504) 658-1010
E-mail: JBatt@cityofno.com

District B
Renee Gill Pratt
Phone (504) 658-1020
E-mail: RPratt@cityofno.com

District C
Jackie Clarkson
Phone (504) 658-1030
E-mail: JClarkson@cityofno.com

District D
David Payton
Phone (504) 658-1040
E-mail: DPayton@cityofnocom

District E
Cynthia Willard-Lewis
Phone (504) 658-1050
E-mail: CWLewis@cityofno.com

At Large
Eddie L. Sapir
Phone (504) 658-1060
E-mail: ESapir@cityofno.com

At Large
Oliver Thomas
Phone (504) 658-1070
E-mail: OThomas@cityofno.com

Comments are closed.


Terms of use | Privacy Policy | Content: Creative Commons | Site and Design © 2009 | Metroblogging ® and Metblogs ® are registered trademarks of Bode Media, Inc.